Double digits! This is good news... thank God. This week has been difficult, too. The morning sickness seems to be letting up a little bit, thank God. Along with that, the worry sets in, too.... the less symptoms I have, the more I worry.

I've been doing my hardest to focus on positive things-- in this blog, too. But, truth be told, I'm terrified most of the time. Losing so many babies has really taken a toll on me. Even though I'm 10 weeks along, I still don't see a baby at the end of this journey. I'm hopeful for good news, but I truly EXPECT to receive bad news.

One thing on my mind this week is a baby shower. I'm totally freaked out about having a baby shower. Sounds odd, right? Since we've lost Kailee, I've connected myself with other mother's who have lost babies. The good thing about doing this is that it helps me to see that I'm not walking the journey alone. The bad thing about this is that I'm connecting with people who lost their babies in many different ways at many different points in their journey. I know that --- even if I do pass the 20 week ultrasound with Chikin mini--- having a live, healthy baby at the end is never guaranteed.

I'm sharing this with you--- not so you can try to find words of comfort--- but I really do want to make this a true representation of how I feel being pregnant after loss. It's not all rainbows and smiles...... it's mostly fear of the unknown and MAKING yourself put one foot in front of the other and just keep walking.

The idea of having a baby shower means that you EXPECT to bring home a live baby at the end. The problem with this is that I've been pregnant 3 times and it has never ended in a LIVE baby, so my mind and body just expect what's happened in the past to happen again. It scares me to think of having a baby shower and then having the baby be stillborn--- seriously, do you give the gifts back like if it were a failed marriage????

I've considered scheduling a shower after the baby is born. I could easily use the excuse of not wanting to have a shower around Thanksgiving/ Christmas time. BUT--- let's say I DO get to bring home a baby. The LAST thing I want to do is expose a baby to a lot of people in the month on January when flu and RSV is rampant.

I posted on my babycenter board, and those women had amazing insight into how i was feeling. My hope is that I start to feel better about this the further along we get in this pregnancy. My hope is that --- with each passing week, the anxiety and fears gets smaller and smaller so the hope and excitement can start to build.
Brittany
6/13/2010 07:23:13 am

Carrie, I admire your courage. I'm too much of a wuss to post my true concerns on my blog. Too many of my family and friends would be like, "Are you depressed?" or something similarly UNhelpful. People who just don't know say stupid things sometimes and I'm so glad you put directly, "I'm sharing this with you--- not so you can try to find words of comfort--- but I really do want to make this a true representation of how I feel being pregnant after loss." No matter what ANYONE says, it's not going to be "right" so don't try to make it (I wish I could say that directly TO people sometimes). Nobody will EVER know exactly how you feel simply because they are not you. I have many of the same feelings as you, but not all because I am not you. I don't take things the same as you and I sure as hell won't try to tell you how you "should" feel.
I'm lucky to know you. You are an extraordinary person and I have learned so much from you already!

Reply
Meredith
6/14/2010 02:43:31 am

I have not had a baby shower this time either. I dont want one right now. I am 28 weeks now and everything is fine, but I am still ok with not having one right now. I had a rude man come in my office the other day. He saw a picture on my desk of my family and asked me if this was going to be my third child. I told him it was (he didnt need to know about her anyway) and he just shook his head and said I was "crazy" and that I would be sorry. I took the chance to tell him nicely, even though I didnt feel like it, that I am actually very lucky and blessed and that I have wonderful well behaved beautiful children and that this one is just as much of a blessing as my others. He still just shook his head and mumbled something about having to see his 5 grandchildren etc etc. I told him everyone is going through something every day and all we can do is pray and have faith and try and make it though. I have been wondering what happened in his life to make him think so miserably of children, after all they are life's greatest joy in my opinion. So Carrie, no one will ever understand your feelings 100% just like Brittany said, but your fears are valid in my mind and I have the same fears every day they just manifest differently I am sure. I am going to have a baby showe after the baby arrives. I will be protective of the baby, and people will just have to understand that. Make everyone wash hands and if you even think you are sick or could be or someone in your house is sick, please respect me and the hard work I have done and bring your gift at a later time. It will still be just as much appreciated and wanted!! I hope you figure everything out and my best advice is to go with your instincts. Mommas know best!!

Reply
Varonica Watts
6/15/2010 09:07:59 am

I have learned a lot from you and your strength and faith are amazing. I lost two before I had mine and still to this day I remember it like it was yesterday. Not so much the pain but the two beautiful babies I sent to heaven. I have two heaven bound angels and two earth bound angels. I won't try to comfort you, I have followed your story so I can pray for you and your husband and in hopes of the happy homecoming you so deserve.

I remember the fear of having another loss after my second and actually told my mother in law who told me I would hold this one to not give me a promise she herself could not keep. You are so right in that it is so helpful to find you are not alone in your feelings of loss and yet so scared when you find out the multiple ways people have lost and the times.

I love your truthfulness and the way you write about your feelings. No two women deal the same way, no two women feel the same feelings.

Hugs to you and many prayers for the hard days ahead may the Lord hold your hand and guide you through.

Prayes,
Varonica

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.