I can't believe it's been over 2 years since we met Kailee. Somedays it seems like longer than that and somedays it seems to have gone by in the blink of an eye.

I survived her 2nd birthday. Thank goodness. The day was really nice. It was sad, but it was also a day of celebration. I loved lighting the paper lanterns and watching them fly out into the night sky. They were so beautiful. I also enjoyed having trick or treaters over and watching Cole respond to all the different costumes. He loved it! I hope he always feels like his sister's birthday is special

I have to say that I am incredibly thankful that September 15th through October 31st is over for this year. It's such an emotional time. Remembering what happened. Reliving it. I feel more "normal" now that it's passed if that makes any sense. We're getting back to our new normal. This year we will celebrate Christmas for the first time in 2 years. (2009 we chose not to and 2010 we were in the hospital with Cole!)

I remember Christmas morning 2009. I sat in my recliner like a bump on a log feeling waves and waves of grief wash over me. I kept wondering when it was going to end. I was praying to God and wondering if we would be holding our take home baby for Christmas 2010. I sometimes wish that God would let me go back in time and tell myself that everything was going to be okay with Colson. It's amazing to think that such a terrible day in 2009 was such a joyous one in 2010. Christmas this year will be especially exciting with our little toddler running around!

I read a quote on Facebook this week that I really liked, I'm not sure who wrote it, as it's not cited, but I have fallen in love with it.

"Sometimes God calms the storm..... sometimes He lets the storm rage and he calms His child."

So true....

Brittany
11/27/2011 07:29:15 am

"I feel more "normal" now that it's passed..." I wrote almost the exact same thing tonight in my blog about Tyler's birthday! So weird! It's like waiting for the other shoe to drop. It is like the rawness of new grief...you can't see past it and once you're on the other side, it is reason to celebrate!

Ahhh, glad we made it :)

Reply
ellen
12/10/2011 10:50:11 am

thinking of you.......

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.