I had my first panic attack yesterday. I was sitting in CPR training at work. no big deal, right? They show a video during this training. In one of the vignettes, they showed a woman going to her child's crib. The child isn't breathing. TRIGGER. It was a serious trigger for me. Let me try to describe what happened to me. I saw the blue baby on tv and it was like I was instantly transported back to the night Kailee was born. I saw flashes of that night. I was holding her. Looking at her blue head, her blue fingers. her blue toes. As this was happening, my breathing must have changed because I couldn't get my breath. I tried to close my eyes and calm myself down in that moment, but I couldn't. At this point, the CPR instructor wanted us to begin CPR chest compressions on our "fake" babies. As I watched others in the room doing their "rescue breathing", the room started to close in on me. It was like the room was actually getting smaller and smaller. I felt completely out of control and I had started to cry. I left the room as quickly as I could and found a bathroom.

It took me over an hour to calm down. Thankfully, a friend (and fellow counselor) talked with me until I was finally able to feel like I had some sort of control.

I've never had anything like that happen to me before. I now know that it's a trigger for me and I will avoid videos with fake dead babies in them.
ellen
8/23/2011 02:31:25 am

does it get easier over time? i ask because i lost my little girl on july 25, 2011 at 20 weeks+1 day gestation. some days i feel like i'm about to go crazy. family members have not asked me about her and just don't talk about her for fear that hearing her name would make me fall apart. (yeah...like i don't do that everyday already. )

Reply
Jill
8/29/2011 01:14:22 am

Many thoughts when I heard this...
1. I am so glad that you had a friend to help you through this.
2. I hate that you had such a strong trigger, and surrounded by such unhelpful people.
3. Kailee was blue, but she is also beautiful. And there is nothing fake about her. She is your daughter. She is real.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.