As the last day of the work week draws to a close, I have a lot to be thankful for. It went so much better than I thought it would! There were so many smiles and laughs and only a few tears. The week has been easy because we've had 2 snow days! I spent one day at school this week and 2 days at the office. Thursday I got to hang out with Brent all day for our snow day, and today is just a "catch-up" day. It's been very nice. I am actually ready to hit the ground running next week!

I've said it over and over, but if you are experiencing any type of grief, CONNECT yourself to other people who have been where you are! They are a support system that cannot be duplicated! I've met many women who have lost their children this year. Three, in particular, I feel very close to. They have provided baby mementos and a shoulder to cry on 24/7. The latest mommy has made Kailee her very own birth announcement! I'm so excited about those!!!! They are incredible! I ordered a whole bunch and plan on addressing them and sending them out over the next few weeks. If you are reading this and definitely want one, please email me with your address so I can make sure you get one. [email protected]

Brent and I are going to participate in a program called GriefShare at our church. It's a support group for people who are grieving. It's a 13 week program that runs Tuesday nights from 7-8:30 at Walter Hill Church of Christ in Murfreesboro. The first night is February 2nd and the cost is $15 for materials--- if you are unable to pay, that's not a problem. I encourage anyone who is grieving ANYTHING to come and check it out. We're excited about what it has to offer.

I've considered starting a support group in Murfreesboro for people who have suffered from miscarriage, stillbirth or infant loss. It's such a unique loss, and I really want to do something to help other people who have been through this. I will begin planning for this group in the next year--- I know I need to take care of myself before embarking on this, but I did want to mention it.

My next hurdle is Kailee's due date. She was officially due on January 25th. I don't know what feelings to expect that day. We were supposed to be filled with joy and excitement, but that's just not how it ended up. For those of you that have been there, any suggestions?



Meredith
1/9/2010 01:47:41 pm

Carrie, I really want to be a part of the group that you plan on starting next year. I am so glad you are putting yourself first though. I am very interested to see what advice you get about Kailee's due date. I wish I could help you but I have not come to my daughters due date yet. I am sure I will not know what to do with myself on that day. Please let me know when you decide to start the group.

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.