Tonight I decided it was time to go through the pile of things from the hospital and the funeral. We haven't unpacked from the hospital or anything--- we just put everything in a pile in our room. I went through it and found a lot of things I didn't know were there. We had a huge pile of programs from the funeral, a funeral book with a guestbook. I was able to look through the guestbook and see who had come--- I honestly can't remember much from the funeral. I just remember sitting by my baby and being content that I got to see her one more time.

Within that pile was also a little bag with a hospital baby blanket in it. It was the blanket she was wrapped in from the hospital to the funeral home. I hugged that blanket and cried for a good 20 minutes. I wish it would have smelled like her. I wish I would have gotten a lotion to rub on Kailee while we were cuddling her so I could smell it and remind myself of her. She had no "smell"--- just "new baby" smell.

Among the things I found was also the outfit she wore that night. I took it out and hugged it, as well. The outfit is laid out on our dresser so that I can run my fingers over it whenever I want to.

I also found a pair of little scissors and tiny ribbons. I assume these were used to try to get a lock of her hair. They weren't able to do this because her hair was too short to cut. I never thought of anyone giving us the scissors, but I'm grateful for them.

I return to work a week from tomorrow. I have to mentally prepare myself for this. I work with children--- that could be a good thing or a bad thing, I'm not sure yet. I anticipate the first week will be the worst. There are a lot of people I work with who I haven't seen since Kailee was born. Seeing the look on other people's faces is the hardest, and I'm sure I'll get a lot of those looks next week. So I will take a deep breath, and try very hard to enjoy what I have left of my maternity leave.
Meredith
12/28/2009 12:06:26 am

Carrie, You are so brave!!

Reply
breda
12/30/2009 06:55:38 am

carrie,
i am not sure how you are feeling about 2009 ending. this is the year you got to hold your baby girl, but you also lost her. so i have no idea if it is a relief to leave this year behind or a relief to let it go. or some combo of lots of different feelings, or something else. Either way, i want you to know i am praying for you. i hope that each day gets a little less painful.

Reply
Brittany
12/30/2009 03:39:43 pm

I went through Tyler's "pile" Monday. All those feelings and emotions...same here sister. I'm so glad you're still doing things for her and being thankful for what you have instead of dwelling on what you don't. What a bittersweet year for us, but we're stronger because of it. And we have pretty amazing husbands to help us through it.
Love, Brittany

Reply
Varonica Watts
12/31/2009 03:51:28 am

Hugs to you and your husband. Reading your post I remember the pain all to well and all I want to do is give you a hug and cry with you.

I haven't forgotten, it has gotten easier but I still look through the things the hospital sent home and remember and cry.

I would love to send you words to ease your pain and know there are none unfortunately. May God continue to hold you close and I am sending you many cyber hugs and prayers.

Varonica Watts

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.