We went for our appointment today. They told us when we got there that it was sometimes really hard to hear the heartbeat on the doppler at 12 weeks. This was disappointing to me, but we would deal with it. The nurses looked for what seemed like 20 minutes to me. Brent says it was more like 5. They couldn't find a heartbeat, so one of them went to find a doctor to see if the doctor could find it.

The doctor came in and--- as soon as he would find it--- our little stinker would move!!! He/she was hiding from us! The doctor asked one of the nurses to bring in the most ancient, portable ultrasound machine I have ever seen. As soon as the wand hit my belly, we saw the little heart flickering.

We also saw baby waving and kicking and flipping! It was amazing! He/she would not hold still for a second! It stole my heart away.

Even though the ultrasound machine was incredibly old, we were amazed at how clearly we could see the little baby. We never really were able to see all that much with Kailee because there was no amniotic fluid. We go back at the end of July and will talk with the doctor about scheduling the anatomy ultrasound.

Today is a good day.
brenda
6/29/2010 10:36:37 am

Carrie,
When I left the hospital w/o my boys, I was thinking of you. You gave me strength during that time. I don't think I have told you this. We were hoping that the boys would come home at some point not sure of how sick they were or what really to think. I too walked out of the hospital, but I was fine because I kept thinking back to your walk. I knew I would be ok. Thankfully our boys were healthy enough 18 days later, but that first week when we didn't know what would happen, you were with me. I just kept thinking that if something did happen and we couldn't bring them home, you gave me the strength to enjoy the time we did have with them. Thank you for sharing your story and being that source of strength when we weren't sure if our boys were going to make it. Thank you Carrie.

Reply
brenda
6/29/2010 10:37:32 am

and yeah for a strong active baby!!!!

Reply
Meredith
6/30/2010 04:30:31 am

It's all the OJ and Chik-N-Mini's friend!! Yea!!! I am so happy for you, I know seeing every move when you cant feel them is incredibly bonding. This is going to be great!!!!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.