I have been terrible about blogging while pregnant this time. I hope I don't regret it and I'm going to try and blog weekly from here on out.

I am currently 12 weeks pregnant. SHOCKING. We were able to go to the doctor on Feb 24th. I was supposed to be almost 10 weeks at that point. I had an ultrasound and she took all the measurements and said that the baby was measuring so far ahead that we would be changing my due date by a week. I guess I did blog about that in my previous post. I'm still dumbfounded. When people ask, I can't bring myself to say September 15. I just say that I'm due in September.

The days leading up to the ultrasound were hard. My morning sickness had started to taper off and I was preparing myself for bad news. I had actually planned to wait until Spring Break at school to try and schedule a D&C if I had to.... that's how "prepared" I was to hear bad news. When she put the ultrasound wand on my stomach, the first thing I saw was the fluttering of a little heartbeat. It made me smile.

Week 12 has been interesting. We've announced to everyone that I'm expecting. It's still odd hearing people congratulate us. My first reaction is "we'll see what happens." A terrible reaction, I know, but it is my reality. I try not to say it out loud. I try just to sit back and say thank you as I tell the little voice in my head to shut up.

I'm starting to feel better. I'm still having food aversions. More specifically, meat. I hate the sight of meat. I hate the smell of meat. Yuck. Brent cooks bacon in the morning and the smell alone makes me want to vomit. Thankfully he has begun to wait until I leave for work to cook his breakfast. One of the many reasons he's so awesome. :-) I've also started feeling the aches and pains of pregnancy. I feel stretching this week and Brent said that he noticed my belly pooching out a bit more than usual yesterday. :-) I've also begun the multiple bathroom trips overnight. (I hate this part) Last night was 3 times. :-(

Overall, I feel good. My next appointment is in April. We don't have my 20 week ultrasound scheduled yet, but I'm hoping she will let us take a peek to see if there's amniotic fluid at our next appointment. Even though the chances are very, very small, I still worry.
Brittany
3/7/2012 11:14:23 am

I notice that I don't blog at the times I should be blogging most. Isn't that odd? I had a journal I kept for my pregnancy with Tyler, one for Keira and a new one that obviously doesn't have much written. I picked it up today and realized that I didn't write about the miscarriage. What a huge event...why didn't I write? Then I remembered that when we got Tyler's diagnosis, I also didn't write about that day for WEEKS.

I think we just get wrapped up in our own thoughts and they're too sparatic (sp?) to decipher. Can't wait to hear how this pregnancy goes for you!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.