April 20th..... the date probably doesn't sound familiar to anyone else. I could probably shout it out in a room full of people I know, and no one would think twice about it. Why is this date considered an anniversary for me? I quoted it countless times during my pregnancy with Kailee. It's the date of my last menstrual period. Who would have thought I'd be thinking about that date? But I am. It's another anniversary. I want to go back in time and tell myself what's going to happen sometimes. Maybe then I can be more prepared for the roller coaster ahead.

Tennessee has passed legislation to issue stillbirth certificates to mommies and daddies who have gone through stillbirths. It is still pending the governor's signature, but no hold ups are anticipated. We will be able to request a certificate for Kailee. Some of you are probably wondering why that is so important. It makes us feel more like she was actually here. Walking out of Vanderbilt 11 hours after giving birth to Kailee, wearing the dress I came to the hospital in, and having no baby with me after that experience is...........well, I can't think of a word to describe how painful and deeply, profoundly sad I felt.


Meredith
4/15/2010 01:19:14 am

I so understand this anniversary.... Mine is July 24th

Reply
4/15/2010 04:33:13 am

July 10th. Praying!

Reply
Brittany
4/15/2010 03:36:38 pm

March 21...April 24 is the day I found out I was preggers :) These are happy anniversaries for me now...but, as always, bittersweet.
Love you...call me! I miss you!

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.